Ian Rodger

President

As a young man I traveled to the UK by ship as a member of the NZ Boy Scout Contingent to attend the World Scout Jamboree. We were away 9 months. I leaned two very very valuable lessons. As we went through the Suez Canal I really saw what a real desert is.  I learned the VALUE OF FRESHWATER - something we have in abundance. I leaned too that  our water does not flow through neighboring countries, so is clean and fresh and in this we are among the richest countries in the world. As an angler and as an agriculturist I recognize this even more and champion it accordingly. (For the value of freshwater and for it to be used to the advantage of all New Zealander’s.)  While in the UK I worked on a mixed farm. There was a lovely stream nearby, however it was made very clear to me when I asked the Lord of the Manor if I may access to fish it, that I could not. The right to fish was privately owned. Lesson two – the privatization of the fishery.  I vowed and declared there and then that I would do what I could to ensure that this would not happen in NZ – hence one of the reasons for playing an active role with the NZ Federation of Freshwater Anglers and the Taupo Fish Advisory Committee.

Our Committee
 Committee Contact Names:
 
 Email
 
Contact Phone  No.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Club President - Ian Rodger 

 

president@afac.org.nz

 

09 5347104 027 4996000

 

Club Secretary - Bruce Willingale

 

secretary@afac.org.nz

 

09 5346010 027 2892066

 

Club Treasurer - Robyn Arrowsmith

 

treasurer@afac.org.nz

 

09 5282468 021 899279

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other Useful Contact Names:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bookings - Laurence Oliver

 

bookings@afac.org.nz

 

09 5759763 027 4978874

 

Library - Ron Holmes 

 

library@afac.org.nz

 

09 5358872 021 661812 

 

Fly-tying - Stephen Kerr 

 

afac3@afac.org.nz

 

027 2941493

 

John White

 

afac2@afac.org.nz

 

021 1416578

 

John Rumpf

 

 afac4@afac.org.nz

 

021372667

 

 Nandor Mago

 

afac5@afac.org.nz

 

 09 5353527 027 6180336

 

Trips

 

trips@afac.org.nz

     
Skills